The information provided on this website is for informational purposes only and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied upon for tax, legal, or other professional advice. Further, the information on this website may or may not reflect the most current legislative or regulatory PFL requirements. You should not act or rely upon this information without consulting your own professional advisor.
News Alert: Massachusetts' Governor Signs Paid Family Leave Into Law
On June 28, Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker signed a bill that will reshape the state's workplaces. Along with increasing the minimum wage, the bill will also offer workers paid time off for family and medical leave starting in 2021.
This means that people recovering from significant illnesses or injuries will receive up to 20 weeks of paid time off, while those who are new parents or are taking care of seriously ill family members will receive up to 12 weeks of paid time off.
Massachusetts is the sixth state to enact a paid family leave law.
You can learn more by reading the following resources:
- JD Supra: Massachusetts Establishes Paid Family Leave and Raises Minimum Wage
- Rewire News: Massachusetts Set to Become Sixth State With Paid Family Leave
- The Hill: Massachusetts Governor Signs Bill Raising Minimum Wage to $15